Gabourey Sidibe finally got a stylist worth having.

13Mar10

This isn’t going to be a post about weight and Hollywood, it’s going to be a post about dressing for your weight.

Look at the first two pictures of Gabby Sidibe.  Quite frankly, she looks awful.  The bright fuchsia satin should not be worn by anyone who has any excess fat – satin makes you look fat and bright pink satin doubly so.  And the black dress is too shiny and doesn’t fit well at all – also those arms need to be covered, not drawn attention to.

Now look at the second two photos – stunning gowns in matte material that conform to the shape of her body rather than bulging and flattening in places they shouldn’t.  This is how a star Gabby’s size should dress.  I really feel that whatever stylist put her in the first two gowns was just cruel, they don’t look good and as a stylist your job is to make someone look as good as they can.

I know this is a touchy subject but a bright fuchsia satin dress is not going to look good on anyone Gabourey’s size, no matter what.  It makes me wonder why it even comes in that size.  I know that designers aren’t fashion police but you would think that if a designer makes plus size clothes s/he should make clothes that look good on plus size people.

Anyway I haven’t seen Precious, so I can’t comment on the movie, but I would like to say I really appreciate this improvement in Miss Sidibe’s appearance.  The first two photos look like they were taken at an urban prom, but the last two make her look like the talented, well recognized actress that she is.  Keep it up Gabby!

3 Responses to “Gabourey Sidibe finally got a stylist worth having.”

  1. I doubt she had a stylist for those first two dresses. You know, she was pretty new to the whole thing and probably just grabbed a dress out of her prom/school dance collection. Not ony are the first two dresses painfully ugly, I don’t think they are high-end by any means. I myself remember wearing those types of dresses to many a tacky school dance.

  2. I love reading an article that can make men and women think.
    Also, thank you for allowing for me to comment!

  3. It’s an amazing piece of writing in support of all the online people; they will
    obtain advantage from it I am sure.


Leave a Reply

